Anne Teresa De Keersmaeker

In 1980, after studying dance at Mudra School in Brussels and Tisch School of the Arts in New York, Anne Teresa De Keersmaeker (b. 1960) created Asch, her first choreographic work. Two years later came the premiere of Fase, Four Movements to the Music of Steve Reich. De Keersmaeker established the dance company Rosas in Brussels in 1983, while creating the work Rosas danst Rosas. Since these breakthrough pieces, her choreography has been grounded in a rigorous and prolific exploration of the relationship between dance and music. She has created with Rosas a wide-ranging body of work engaging the musical structures and scores of several periods, from early music to contemporary and popular idioms. Her choreographic practice also draws formal principles from geometry, numerical patterns, the natural world, and social structures to offer a unique perspective on the body’s articulation in space and time.

 

From 1992 until 2007, Rosas was in residence in the Brussels opera house De Munt/La Monnaie. During this period, De Keersmaeker directed a number of operas and large ensemble pieces that have since been performed by repertoire companies worldwide. In Drumming (1998) and Rain (2001), both with Ictus contemporary music ensemble, complex geometric structures in point and counterpoint, together with the minimal motivic music of Steve Reich, created compelling group choreographies that remain iconic and definitive of Rosas as a dance company. Also during her time at La Monnaie, De Keersmaeker created Toccata (1993) to fugues and sonatas of Johann Sebastian Bach, whose music has continued to be a recurring thread in her work. Verklärte Nacht (both the 1995 version for fourteen dancers and the 2014 version for three) unfolded De Keersmaeker’s expressionist side, bringing the stormy narrative of Arnold Schönberg’s late romantic string sextet to life. She ventured into theater, text, and interdisciplinary performance with I said I (1999), In real time (2000), Kassandra - speaking in twelve voices (2004), and D’un soir un jour (2006). She highlighted the use of improvisation within choreography in tandem with jazz and Indian music in such pieces as Bitches Brew / Tacoma Narrows (2003, to the music of Miles Davis), and Raga for the Rainy Season / A Love Supreme (2005).

 

In 1995 De Keersmaeker established the school P.A.R.T.S. (Performing Arts Research and Training Studios) in Brussels in association with De Munt/La Monnaie.

 

De Keersmaeker’s latest pieces mark a visible “stripping down” of her choreography to essential principles: spatial constraints of geometric pattern; bodily parameters of movement generation, from the utmost simplicity of walking to the fullest complexity of dancing; and close adherence to a score (musical or otherwise) for the choreographic writing. In 2013, De Keersmaeker returned to the music of Bach (performed live) in Partita 2, a duet between herself and Boris Charmatz. Also in 2013, she created Vortex Temporum to the spectral music piece of the same name written in 1996 by Gérard Grisey. Taking her penchant for writing movements from musical scores to an extreme level of sophistication, Vortex Temporum had a one-to-one ratio between the Rosas dancers and the live Ictus musicians, bringing the choreography and the music into meticulous dialogue. In 2015 this piece was adapted to a durational exhibition format at WIELS in Brussels under the title Work/Travail/Arbeid. Also in 2015, Rosas premiered Golden Hours (As you like it), using for the first time a body of text (Shakespeare’s As You Like It) as the score for movement, thus allowing the music (Brian Eno’s 1975 album Another Green World) to recede from strict framework to soft environment. Later that year, Anne Teresa De Keersmaeker continued her research into the relationship between text and movement in Die Weise von Liebe und Tod des Cornets Christoph Rilke, a creation based on the eponymous text by Rainer Maria Rilke.

 

In A Choreographer’s Score, a three-volume monograph published by Rosas and Mercatorfonds, De Keersmaeker offers the performance theorist and musicologist Bojana Cvejić wide-ranging insights into the making of four early works as well as Drumming, Rain, En Atendant (2010), and Cesena (2011).

Anne Teresa De Keersmaeker

En 1980, après des études de danse à l'école Mudra de Bruxelles, puis à la Tisch School of the Arts de New York, Anne Teresa De Keersmaeker (née en1960) crée Asch, sa première chorégraphie. Deux ans plus tard, elle marque les esprits en présentant Fase, Four Movements to the Music of Steve Reich. En 1983, De Keersmaeker chorégraphie Rosas danst Rosas et établit à Bruxelles sa compagnie de danse Rosas. A partir de ces oeuvres fondatrices, Anne Teresa De Keersmaeker a continué d’explorer, avec exigence et prolixité, les relations entre danse et musique. Elle a constitué avec Rosas un vaste corpus de spectacles qui s’affrontent aux structures musicales et aux partitions de toutes les époques, de la musique ancienne à la musique contemporaine en passant par les expressions populaires. Sa pratique chorégraphique est basée sur les principes formels de la géométrie et les modèles mathématiques, l'étude du monde naturel et des structures sociales — ouvrant de singulières perspectives sur le déploiement du corps dans l’espace et le temps.

 

Entre 1992 à 2007, Rosas a été accueilli en résidence au théâtre de La Monnaie/De Munt à Bruxelles. Au cours de cette période, Anne Teresa De Keersmaeker a dirigé plusieurs opéras et de vastes pièces d’ensemble qui ont depuis intégré le répertoire des compagnies du monde entier. Dans Drumming (1998) et Rain (2001) — spectacles auxquels collabore l'ensemble de musique contemporaine Ictus — s’épanouissent de vastes structures géométriques, aussi complexes dans leurs tracés que dans leurs combinaisons, qui s’entremêlent aux motifs obsédants du minimalisme de Steve Reich. Ces fascinantes chorégraphies de groupe sont devenues des icônes, emblématiques de l’identité de Rosas. Au cours de sa résidence au théâtre de La Monnaie, Anne Teresa De Keersmaeker présente également le spectacle Toccata (1993) sur des fugues et partitas de J.S. Bach, dont l'œuvre constitue un fil rouge dans son travail. Verklärte Nacht (écrit pour quatorze danseurs en 1995, adapté pour trois danseurs en 2014) dévoile l'aspect expressionniste du travail de la chorégraphe en valorisant l’orageuse dimension narrative associée à ce sextuor à cordes de Schoenberg, typique du postromantisme tardif. Elle s’aventure vers le théâtre, le texte et le spectacle transdisciplinaire avec I said I (1999), In real time (2000), Kassandra – speaking in twelve voices (2004), et D'un soir un jour (2006). Elle  intensifie le rôle de l'improvisation dans sa chorégraphie en travaillant à partir de jazz ou de musique indienne dans des pièces telles que Bitches Brew / Tacoma Narrows (2003) sur la musique de Miles Davis, ou Raga for the Rainy Season / A Love Supreme (2005).

 

En 1995, Anne Teresa De Keersmaeker fondait l'école P.A.R.T.S. (Performing Arts Research and Training Studios) à Bruxelles en association avec La Monnaie/De Munt.

 

Les récentes pièces d'Anne Teresa De Keersmaeker témoignent d'un dépouillement qui met à nu les nerfs essentiels de son style : un espace contraint par la géométrie ; une oscillation entre la plus extrême simplicité dans les principes générateurs de mouvements — ceux de la marche par exemple — et une organisation chorégraphique riche et complexe ; et un rapport soutenu à une partition (musicale ou autre) dans sa propre écriture. En 2013, De Keersmaeker revient à la musique de J.S. Bach (jouée live, toujours) dans Partita 2, un duo qu’elle danse avec Boris Charmatz. La même année,  elle crée Vortex Temporum sur l’oeuvre musicale du même nom écrite en 1996 par Gérard Grisey,  très caractéristique de la musique dite spectrale. L’ancrage de l’écriture gestuelle dans l’étude de la partition musicale y est poussé à un degré extrême de sophistication et favorise un méticuleux dialogue entre danse et musique, représenté par un couplage strict de chaque danseur de Rosas avec un musicien d’Ictus. En 2015, le spectacle est totalement refondu pour l’adapter au format muséal, durant neuf semaines de performance au centre d'art contemporain WIELS de Bruxelles, sous le titre Work/Travail/Arbeid. La même année, Rosas crée Golden Hours (As you like it), à partir d’une matrice textuelle (la pièce Comme il vous plaira de Shakespeare) qui sert de partition implicite aux mouvements, affranchissant pour une fois la musique de sa mission formalisante et lui autorisant la fonction plus soft d’environnement sonore (il s’agit de l’album Another Green World de Brian Eno, 1975). En 2015 également, Anne Teresa De Keersmaeker poursuit sa recherche du lien entre texte et mouvement dans Die Weise von Liebe und Tod des Cornets Christoph Rilke, une création basée sur le texte éponyme de Rainer Maria Rilke.

 

Dans Carnets d'une chorégraphe, une monographie de trois volumes publiée par Rosas et les Fonds Mercator, la chorégraphe dialogue avec la théoricienne et musicologue Bojana Cvejić, et déploie un vaste panorama de points de vue sur ses quatre oeuvres de jeunesse ainsi que sur Drumming, Rain, En Atendant et Cesena.