Fase, Four Movements to the Music of Steve Reich

Anne Teresa De Keersmaeker / Rosas

Fase, Four Movements to the Music of Steve Reich, choreographer Anne Teresa De Keersmaeker’s very first performance, premiered in 1982. Fase comprises three duets and one solo, choreographed to four repetitive compositions by the American minimalist Steve Reich. De Keersmaeker uses the structure of Reich’s music to develop an independent movement idiom that doesn’t merely illustrate the music but also adds a new dimension to it. Both the music and the dance start from the principle of phase shifting through tiny variations: movements that are initially perfectly synchronous gradually start slipping and sliding, resulting in an ingenious play of continuously changing forms and patterns.

Anne Teresa De Keersmaeker
Created with
Jennifer Everhard (Come Out)
Michèle Anne De Mey (Piano Phase, Clapping Music)
Danced by
Anne Teresa De Keersmaeker
Tale Dolven
Steve Reich
-Piano Phase (1967)
-Come Out (1966)
-Violin Phase (1967)
-Clapping Music (1972)

Light design
Mark Schwentner (Violin Phase & Come Out)
Remon Fromont (Piano Phase & Clapping Music)
Martine André & Anne Teresa De Keersmaeker
1982-Schaamte (Brussels), Avila (Brussels)
1993-Rosas & De Munt / La Monnaie (Brussels)

Coproduction Early Works
Sadler's Wells (London), Les Théâtres de la Ville de Luxembourg
18/03/1982, Beursschouwburg (Brussels)