Somnia

P.A.R.T.S. / Anne Teresa De Keersmaeker, Jolente De Keersmaeker

Together with Anne Teresa De Keersmaeker and Jolente De Keersmaeker, forty-four dancers enter into a dialogue with the natural landscape, where factors such as sound and silence, light and dark, distance and proximity become a matter of perspective, and where both new possibilities and boundaries emerge. In search of an ecological aesthetic they leave behind the four walls of the theatre for a performance that requires few theatrical interventions and fuse seamlessly with the natural environment.

The woods and the night sky offer the perfect backdrop for the ‘dreams’ to which the title Somnia refers. The first of the dreams is Somnium, a novel by the seventeenth-century astronomer Johannes Kepler, in which science and science fiction merge to show that the planets revolve around the sun in an elliptic orbit. The second dream underpinning the performance is A Midsummer Night’s Dream. Combining Shakespeare and Kepler, the dancers explore the intersection of text, dance and music playing with gravity while guided by fantastic stories in a space-time far beyond the borders of urban theatre. Somnia is the graduation project for the PARTS’ final-year students.

A Midsummer Night’s Dream

In four days, the duke of Athens, Theseus, will marry Hippolyta, the queen of the Amazons. Egeus comes to the court to ask advice about his daughter Hermia. She refuses to marry Demetrius, and plans to flee into the forest with Lysander, her true love. Demetrius and Helena, a friend of Hermia who in turn is in love with Demetrius, follow them. Meanwhile, in the forest, a group of artisans is rehearsing Pyramus and Thisbe, a play that they intend to perform at the Duke’s wedding.

In the same forest, the elf king and queen Oberon and Titania are engaged in a fierce argument. Oberon wants his wife to hand over her servant, an Indian boy, but she refuses. Oberon then comes up with a plan. He sends his servant Puck out for the juice of an enchanted flower, which he drops into the eyes of Titania while she is asleep. When she wakes up, she will fall in love with the first creature she sets eyes on. It turns out to be Bottom, one of the craftsmen, whom Puck has provided with a donkey’s head.

Meanwhile, Demetrius and Helena walk into the forest, looking for Hermia and Lysander. Oberon decides to lend Helena a hand and, using the same magic flower, make sure that Demetrius also falls in love with Helena. He orders Puck to look for a young man in Athenian attire and in the company of a woman, so he can enchant him. Puck, however, first encounters the sleeping Lysander and Hermia, and, convinced that he is carrying out his assignment well, drops the juice into Lysander’s eyes. The latter, however, is awakened by Helena, who passes his sleeping place in pursuit of Demetrius. He falls head over heels in love with her and follows her, and when Hermia later wakes up alone and ignorant, she goes looking for him.

Eventually Oberon and Puck lift the spell from Lysander, so he can marry Hermia and Demetrius can marry Helena. Titania’s spell is broken as well, Bottom loses his donkey’s head and Oberon and Titania reconcile. That evening the joint wedding party of Theseus and Hippolyta and the two young couples takes place. The artisans, rejoined by Bottom, perform Pyramus and Thisbe.

Created with Anne Teresa De Keersmaeker, Jolente De Keersmaeker

With Rita Alves (PT), Maureen Bator (FR), Cassandre Cantillon (BE), Calvin Carrier (UK), Wai Lok Chan (HK), Aminata Diallo (FR), Synne Enoksen (NO), Papis Faye (SN), José Fernandez (ES), Carolina Ferreira (PT), Némo Flouret (FR), Rafael Dos Santos (BR), Jonas Gineika (LT), Tessa Hall (NZ), Hanako Hayakawa (JP), Hyeonseok Lee (KR), Thomas Higginson (UK), Mei-Ning Huang (TW), Cheyenne Illegems (BE), Keren Kraizer (IL), Georges Labbat (FR), Robson Ledesma (BR), Eimi Leggett (JP), Ivan Lucadamo (ES), Lydia McGlinchey (AU), Audrey Merilus (FR), Vasco Mirine (MZ), Fouad Nafili (MA), Azusa Namba (JP), Timothy Nouzak (AT), Stanley Ollivier (FR), Alban Ovanessian (FR), Jean-Baptiste Portier (FR), Margarida Ramalhete (PT), Luis Ramirez Munoz (CO), Myriam Rosser (ES), Julia Rubies (ES), Cintia Sebök (HU), Joshua Serafin (PH), Mariana Silva (BR), Judith Van Oeckel (BE), Mooni Van Tichel (BE), Gustavo Vieira (BR), Mamadou Wague (FR)

Location Kasteelpark Gaasbeek

Production P.A.R.T.S. 
Coproduction Rosas, tg STAN, Kunstenfestivaldesarts, Agentschap Natuur & Bos, Kasteel van Gaasbeek Presentation Kunstenfestivaldesarts, Kaaitheater, Agentschap Natuur & Bos, Kasteel van Gaasbeek

Thanks to Ictus, De School van Gaasbeek, Drinks Limbourg, de gemeente Lennik

P.A.R.T.S. is supported by the Flemish Ministry of Education

 

Video reports

Video by Olivia Rochette & Gerard-Jan Claes 
Camera Ruben Desiere, Pieter Dumoulin 
Sound Lennert De Taeye, Nina de Vroome, Lieselot Everaert 
Editing Olivia Rochette, Gerard-Jan Claes, Lennert De Taeye 
Color grading Lennert De Taeye

  • Act 2 – Scene 1: Enter a FAIRY at one side and PUCK (hiding) at another
  • Act 2 – Scene 1: TITANIA and her FAIRIES exit, OBERON stays
  • Act 2 - Scene 1: Enter DEMETRIUS, HELENA following him
  • Act 3 – Scene 1: TITANIA sleeps. Enter the clowns: BOTTOM, QUINCE, FLUTE, SNUG, SNOUT, STARVELING and PUCK unseen
  • Act 3 – Scene 2: Enter Puch
  • Act 3 – Scene 2: Enter DEMETRIUS and HERMIA
  • Act 3 – Scene 2: Enter ROBIN
  • Act 3 – Scene 2: Enter LYSANDER and HELENA
  • Act 3 – Scene 2: Enter LYSANDER and HELENA
  • Act 3 – Scene 2 (text) + Act 4 – Scene 1 (silence): xit LYSANDER, DEMETRIUS, exit Helena, exit HERMIA, OBERON and PUCK stay
  • Act 5 – Scene 1: Enter Puck

Somnia

P.A.R.T.S. / Anne Teresa De Keersmaeker, Jolente De Keersmaeker

Un groupe de 44 danseurs, accompagnés d’Anne Teresa et Jolente De Keersmaeker, ouvrent un dialogue avec le paysage naturel. Ils foulent les zones liminaires entre bruit et silence, lumière et obscurité, distance et proximité, là où surgissent de nouveaux potentiels et de nouvelles limites. Hors des murs du théâtre, en quête d’une esthétique écologique, ils élaborent une performance fondue dans l’environnement naturel à partir d’un minimum d’interventions théâtrales.

La forêt et la nuit étoilée constituent le décor idéal des rêves que convoque le titre. Le premier Songe qui conduit leur travail est celui de Johannes Kepler, Somnium : une nouvelle du XVIIe siècle sur le fil du rasoir entre science et science-fiction, où l’astronome  démontre les trajectoires elliptiques des planètes autour du soleil. A Midsummer Night’s Dream est le second Songe. Placés sous l’emprise des récits fantastiques de Shakespeare et Kepler, les danseurs associent texte, danse et musique en se jouant de la gravité, immergés dans un espace-temps tournant à mille lieues du théâtre urbain. Somnia (« Songes ») : c’est le projet de fin d’études des étudiants de PARTS.

Songe d’une nuit d’été

Dans quatre jours, le duc d’Athènes, Thésée, va épouser Hippolyta, la reine des Amazones. Égée se rend à la cour pour demander conseil au sujet de sa fille, Hermia. Celle-ci refuse d’épouser Démétrius et a l’intention de fuir dans le bois avec Lysandre, son véritable amour. Ils sont poursuivis par Démétrius et Héléna, une amie d’Hermia, qui elle, est amoureuse de Démétrius. Entre-temps, un groupe d’artisans répète dans le bois la pièce de théâtre qu’ils joueront au mariage du duc et qui raconte le mythe de Pyrame et Thisbé.

Dans ce bois, le roi et la reine des Elfes – Obéron et Titania – se disputent âprement : Obéron souhaite que son épouse lui cède son jeune page, un garçon indien, mais elle refuse. Sur ce, Obéron élabore un plan : il envoie son serviteur, le lutin Puck, chercher le nectar d’une fleur magique et l’enjoint d’en verser quelques gouttes sur les yeux de Titania endormie. Quand elle se réveillera, elle tombera amoureuse de la première personne qu’elle verra. Et cette personne sera Bottom, l’un des artisans, que Puck a en outre affublé d’une tête d’âne.

Entre-temps, Démétrius et Héléna accourent dans le bois à la recherche de Hermia et Lysandre. Obéron décide de donner un coup de pouce à Héléna et de verser le suc de la fleur magique sur les yeux de Délétrius afin qu’il tombe amoureux d’elle. Il ordonne à Puck de partir en quête d’un jeune homme, vêtu à l’Athénienne et accompagné d’une jeune dame, et de l’ensorceler. Puck rencontre cependant d’abord Lysandre endormi non loin de Hermia. Convaincu d’exécuter correctement sa mission, il verse quelques gouttes du suc sur les yeux de Lysandre. Quand celui-ci est réveillé par Héléna, qui passe près de lui à la poursuite de Démétrius, il tombe fou amoureux d’elle. Quand Hermia se réveille à son tour, seule, ignorant la tournure des choses, elle part à la recherche de Lysandre.

Finalement, Obéron et Puck neutralisent le charme administré à Lysandre afin qu’il puisse épouser Hermia et que Démétrius puisse épouser Héléna. Ils dissipent aussi le sortilège de Titania, délivrent Bottom de sa tête d’âne tandis qu’Obéron et Titania se réconcilient. Ce soir-là ont lieu les noces de Thésée et Hippolyta et des deux jeunes couples. Les artisans, à nouveau au complet depuis le retour de Bottom, jouent la pièce de théâtre Pyrame et Thisbé.

Created with Anne Teresa De Keersmaeker, Jolente De Keersmaeker

With Rita Alves (PT), Maureen Bator (FR), Cassandre Cantillon (BE), Calvin Carrier (UK), Wai Lok Chan (HK), Aminata Diallo (FR), Synne Enoksen (NO), Papis Faye (SN), José Fernandez (ES), Carolina Ferreira (PT), Némo Flouret (FR), Rafael Dos Santos (BR), Jonas Gineika (LT), Tessa Hall (NZ), Hanako Hayakawa (JP), Hyeonseok Lee (KR), Thomas Higginson (UK), Mei-Ning Huang (TW), Cheyenne Illegems (BE), Keren Kraizer (IL), Georges Labbat (FR), Robson Ledesma (BR), Eimi Leggett (JP), Ivan Lucadamo (ES), Lydia McGlinchey (AU), Audrey Merilus (FR), Vasco Mirine (MZ), Fouad Nafili (MA), Azusa Namba (JP), Timothy Nouzak (AT), Stanley Ollivier (FR), Alban Ovanessian (FR), Jean-Baptiste Portier (FR), Margarida Ramalhete (PT), Luis Ramirez Munoz (CO), Myriam Rosser (ES), Julia Rubies (ES), Cintia Sebök (HU), Joshua Serafin (PH), Mariana Silva (BR), Judith Van Oeckel (BE), Mooni Van Tichel (BE), Gustavo Vieira (BR), Mamadou Wague (FR)

Location Kasteelpark Gaasbeek

Production P.A.R.T.S. 
Coproduction Rosas, tg STAN, Kunstenfestivaldesarts, Agentschap Natuur & Bos, Kasteel van Gaasbeek Presentation Kunstenfestivaldesarts, Kaaitheater, Agentschap Natuur & Bos, Kasteel van Gaasbeek

Thanks to Ictus, De School van Gaasbeek, Drinks Limbourg, de gemeente Lennik

P.A.R.T.S. is supported by the Flemish Ministry of Education


Video reports

Video by Olivia Rochette & Gerard-Jan Claes 
Camera Ruben Desiere, Pieter Dumoulin 
Sound Lennert De Taeye, Nina de Vroome, Lieselot Everaert 
Editing Olivia Rochette, Gerard-Jan Claes, Lennert De Taeye 
Color grading Lennert De Taeye

  • Act 2 – Scene 1: Enter a FAIRY at one side and PUCK (hiding) at another
  • Act 2 – Scene 1: TITANIA and her FAIRIES exit, OBERON stays
  • Act 2 - Scene 1: Enter DEMETRIUS, HELENA following him
  • Act 3 – Scene 1: TITANIA sleeps. Enter the clowns: BOTTOM, QUINCE, FLUTE, SNUG, SNOUT, STARVELING and PUCK unseen
  • Act 3 – Scene 2: Enter Puch
  • Act 3 – Scene 2: Enter DEMETRIUS and HERMIA
  • Act 3 – Scene 2: Enter ROBIN
  • Act 3 – Scene 2: Enter LYSANDER and HELENA
  • Act 3 – Scene 2: Enter LYSANDER and HELENA
  • Act 3 – Scene 2 (text) + Act 4 – Scene 1 (silence): xit LYSANDER, DEMETRIUS, exit Helena, exit HERMIA, OBERON and PUCK stay
  • Act 5 – Scene 1: Enter Puck