Dark Red – Beyeler

Anne Teresa De Keersmaeker / Rosas

At the invitation of the Fondation Beyeler in Riehen/Basel, Switzerland, Anne Teresa De Keersmaeker has created a new choreography for the museum's current Rodin/Arp exhibition. 

For this work, De Keersmaeker confronts her Dark Red with Auguste Rodin and Hans Arp's sculptural universe. The palpable power of Rodin's obsession with the human body and its implicitly narrative force and Arp's desire for formal emancipation directly resonate with De Keersmaeker's choreographic research: an exploration of the body's capacities for abstraction, an organisation of movement in time and space.

Dark Red - Beyeler will be on show from 18 to 28 March within the regular opening hours from 10 a.m. to 6 p.m. and admission is included in the exhibition ticket. The Rodin/Arp exhibition at the Fondation Beyeler runs until 16 May 2021.

Dark Red - Beyeler is part of Dark Red, a series of projects with which Anne Teresa De Keersmaeker brings dance to the museum space. Previous versions of Dark Red took place in the museum Kolumba in Cologne, in BOZAR in Brussels as part of Europalia Romania/Brancusi and in the M HKA in Antwerp.

Concept & choreography
Anne Teresa De Keersmaeker

Danced by
Boštjan Antončič, Michaël Pomero, Rafael Galdino, Marie Goudot, Frank Gizycki, Jacob Storer, Lav Crnčević, Cynthia Loemij, Yuika Hashimoto, Laura Maria Poletti, Sophia Dinkel, Nemo Flouret

Choreographic assistants
Diane Madden, Michaël Pomero

Text & research
Tessa Hall, Nemo Flouret

Costumes
Lila John

Music
Take Five, Paul Desmond, @Derry Music Company
The Times They Are a-Changin', Bob Dylan

Production
Fondation Beyeler & Rosas

  • “Rodin/Arp” Press Conference
  • Anne Teresa De Keersmaeker – in conversation with Elena Filipovic

Dark Red – Beyeler

Anne Teresa De Keersmaeker / Rosas

À l'invitation de la Fondation Beyeler à Riehen/Bâle, en Suisse, Anne Teresa De Keersmaeker a créé une nouvelle chorégraphie pour l'actuelle exposition Rodin/Arp du musée.

Pour cette création, Anne Teresa De Keersmaeker confronte son Dark Red à l'univers sculptural d'Auguste Rodin et de Hans Arp. La puissance sensible de l'obsession de Rodin pour le corps humain, sa force implicitement narrative, ainsi que le désir d'émancipation formelle d'Arp entrent directement en résonance avec la recherche chorégraphique de De Keersmaeker : une exploration des capacités d'abstraction du corps, une organisation du mouvement dans le temps et l'espace.

Dark Red - Beyeler sera présentée du 18 au 28 mars aux heures d'ouverture habituelles, de 10 à 18 heures, et l'entrée est comprise dans le billet d'entrée à l'exposition. L'exposition Rodin/Arp à la Fondation Beyeler est ouverte jusqu'au 16 mai 2021.

Dark Red - Beyeler fait partie de Dark Red, une série de projets avec lesquels Anne Teresa De Keersmaeker apporte la danse dans l'espace du musée. Les versions précédentes de Dark Red ont eu lieu au musée Kolumba à Cologne, au BOZAR à Bruxelles dans le cadre d'Europalia Romania/Brancusi et au M HKA à Anvers.

Concept & choreography
Anne Teresa De Keersmaeker

Danced by
Boštjan Antončič, Michaël Pomero, Rafael Galdino, Marie Goudot, Frank Gizycki, Jacob Storer, Lav Crnčević, Cynthia Loemij, Yuika Hashimoto, Laura Maria Poletti, Sophia Dinkel, Nemo Flouret

Choreographic assistants
Diane Madden, Michaël Pomero

Text & research
Tessa Hall, Nemo Flouret

Costumes
Lila John

Music
Take Five, Paul Desmond, @Derry Music Company
The Times They Are a-Changin', Bob Dylan

Production
Fondation Beyeler & Rosas

  • “Rodin/Arp” Press Conference
  • Anne Teresa De Keersmaeker – in conversation with Elena Filipovic