Dark Red – Louvre-Lens

Anne Teresa De Keersmaeker / Rosas

Traveling through the history of art in Louvre-Lens’s Gallery of Time, Anne Teresa De Keersmaeker addresses the notion of duration by focusing on walking as the most basic form of dancing—indeed, the fundamental common denominator of humanity in motion. On a path parallel to five thousand years of art history concentrated in one vast space, she presents an invitation to slow down, to feel the slightest of time’s inflections. It is a resistance to contemporary injunctions of speed, or, as in Brian Eno’s words, the passage of time and the ever more topical question of Another Green World (the title of his album from 1975).

Creating a choreographic answer to the collection and the architecture of Louvre-Lens, De Keersmaeker presents a group, a community, united by walking, on their way to something that is uncertain. They start with the most basic movement possible: a step forward, toward the bright, transparent space of the glass gallery designed by Kazuyo Sejima and Ryue Nishizawa, and its view of Bollaert stadium.

Concept & choreography
Anne Teresa De Keersmaeker
 
Danced by
Boštjan Antončič, Michaël Pomero, Rafael Galdino, Marie Goudot, Frank Gizycki, Jacob Storer, Lav Crnčević, Cynthia Loemij, Yuika Hashimoto, Laura Maria Poletti, Sophia Dinkel, Fumiyo Ikeda, Mamadou Wagué
 
Choreographic assistants
Diane Madden, Michaël Pomero
 
Music
Another Green World, Brian Eno
 
Production
Rosas
 
As part of Opéra de Lille hors-les-murs, in co-creation with Louvre-Lens

Dark Red – Louvre-Lens

Anne Teresa De Keersmaeker / Rosas

En parcourant l'histoire de l'art dans la “Galerie du temps” du Louvre-Lens, Anne Teresa De Keersmaeker aborde la notion de “durée”. Pour ce faire, elle se concentre sur ce qu’elle considère comme la forme la plus élémentaire de la danse : la marche ­— soit le dénominateur commun de toute l'humanité en mouvement. Sur un chemin qui couvre d’un seul regard cinq mille années d'histoire de l'art, concentrées en un seul et immense espace, la chorégraphe propose une invitation à ralentir, pour mieux ressentir les plus légères modulations du temps. Il s’agit là d’une résistance aux injonctions contemporaines de vitesse, d’une réflexion sur le passage du temps — pour le dire avec les mots d’une chanson de Brian Eno —, et d’une quête toujours plus brûlante de another green world (titre de l’album de 1975 du même Eno).

En guise de réponse chorégraphique à la collection et à l'architecture du Louvre-Lens, De Keersmaeker met en place un collectif : une communauté de gens qu’unissent la marche, et qui se mettent en route vers une destination incertaine. Leur parcours prend son départ dans le mouvement le plus simple qu’on puisse trouver — un pas en avant — vers un espace tout en lumière et en transparence, la galerie de verre conçue par Kazuyo Sejima et Ryue Nishizawa, et sa vue sur le stade Bollaert.

Concept and choreography
Anne Teresa De Keersmaeker
 
Danced by & created with
Boštjan Antončič, Michaël Pomero, Rafael Galdino, Marie Goudot, Frank Gizycki, Jacob Storer, Lav Crnčević, Cynthia Loemij, Yuika Hashimoto, Laura Maria Poletti, Sophia Dinkel, Fumiyo Ikeda, Mamadou Wagué
 
Choreographic assistants
Diane Madden, Michaël Pomero
 
Music
Another Green World, Brian Eno
 
Production
Rosas
 
As part of Opéra de Lille hors-les-murs, in co-creation with Louvre-Lens.