The Goldberg Variations, BWV 988

Anne Teresa De Keersmaeker, Pavel Kolesnikov / Rosas

The Goldberg Variations belong to Bach’s late period, in which the composer pushes the boundaries of musical themes in a play of variations, canons and fugues. For this composition, he started from a simple and quiet melody, joined with an underlying bass line, which steadily unfolds into a musical cosmos that reveals itself with extraordinary variety and unparalleled complexity.

Together with pianist Pavel Kolesnikov, Anne Teresa De Keersmaeker continues her journey with Bach in dialogue with these variations The large casting of The Six Brandenburg Concertos – her previous creation to music by Bach – is now brought back to a solo performance danced by De Keersmaeker herself. In doing so, she stays true to the same principle of the musical score as the blueprint for choreography.

Spanning no less than one aria and thirty variations, the music challenges the choreography to a similar exercise in width: to find a form of dance capable of adaptation and flexibility while retaining an immutable core. To De Keersmaeker, it is above all an invitation to consolidate the road travelled as an artist, posing today’s questions in her ongoing search for a personal choreographic idiom.

Choreography and dance
Anne Teresa De Keersmaeker

Music
Johann Sebastian Bach, The Goldberg Variations, BWV 988

Piano
Pavel Kolesnikov

Production
Rosas

Coproduction
Wiener Festwochen, Concertgebouw (Brugge), De Munt / La Monnaie, Théâtre de la Ville (Paris), Internationaal Theater Amsterdam / Julidans, Sadler’s Wells (London), Montpellier Danse

This production is realized with the support of the Tax Shelter of the Belgian Federal Government, in collaboration with Casa Kafka Pictures Tax Shelter empowered by Belfius.

The Goldberg Variations, BWV 988

Anne Teresa De Keersmaeker, Pavel Kolesnikov / Rosas

Les Variations Goldberg comptent parmi les œuvres de la haute maturité de Jean-Sébastien Bach. Le compositeur y pousse à l’extrême la densité de son écriture, en jouant avec maestria de toutes les ressources de la variation, du canon et de la fugue. À partir d’une simple basse continue, celle qui sert de canevas au premier et paisible Aria de l’œuvre, se déploie un univers musical éblouissant, d’une diversité et d’une complexité à couper le souffle.

En compagnie du jeune pianiste Pavel Kolesnikov, Anne Teresa De Keersmaeker poursuit son long et entêté compagnonnage avec Bach. Après l’ample distribution des six Concertos brandebourgeois, sa précédente création sur la musique de Bach, elle opte cette fois pour un spectacle en solo, qu’elle interprète elle-même.

Elle y reste fidèle au plus décisif de ses principes : fonder ses chorégraphies sur l’étude des partitions musicales. Avec sa trentaine de variations de toutes natures, en effet, la musique des Goldberg lance un redoutable et passionnant défi : inventer une forme dansée en perpétuelle transformation, gravitant pourtant autour d’un foyer immobile. Occasion pour Anne Teresa De Keersmaeker de relire le chemin parcouru à la lumière des questions contemporaines, et de sonder la persistance de son désir de chorégraphe.

Chorégraphie et danse
Anne Teresa De Keersmaeker

Musique
Johann Sebastian Bach, The Goldberg Variations, BWV 988

Piano
Pavel Kolesnikov

Collaboration musicale
Alain Franco

Assistante chorégraphique
Diane Madden

Scénographie et lumières
Minna Tiikkainen

Production
Rosas

Coproduction
Wiener Festwochen, Concertgebouw (Brugge), De Munt / La Monnaie, Théâtre de la Ville à Paris - Théâtre du Châtelet (Paris), Internationaal Theater Amsterdam / Julidans, Sadler’s Wells (London), Montpellier Danse

Cette production est réalisée avec le soutien du Tax Shelter du Gouvernement fédéral belge, en collaboration avec Casa Kafka Pictures Tax Shelter empowered by Belfius.

Piano fourni par Yamaha.

  • The Goldberg Variations, BWV988 — Trailer